Case Study and Issues in PR — Blog’s Comments

Comment week 3 

Link to the article  http://soydanbay.com/2011/09/21/you-and-me-the-brand-relationship-theory/#more-640

You and Me: The Brand Relationship Theory Posted by Soydanbay

Comment posted on July 16, 2013

As a PR student, I had to write an assignment analyzing different types of campaigns. The campaign that captured my attention was “Will It Blend?” from Blendtec®, because the idea was original and simple. I think some of the ideas you wrote in this article apply to Blendtec® – the company established emotional bonds with its customers. It also built two-way communications with its customers by inviting them to sending recipes. What attracted most of my attention, however, was the way the CEO could have fun with the company’s product and could show that to customers. You talked about relationships being “a two-way street,” and I think this is the challenge that brands today have to be successful at. Blendtec® clearly is.

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 8.42.10 AM

Comment week 2

Link to the article

http://spinsucks.com/communication/starting-a-public-relations-firm-the-business-side-of-things/

Starting a Public Relations Firm: The Business Side of Things by Gini Dietrich | June 27, 2013

Thank you for this article! As a PR student, this story shows me that it is not easy to start a company, but it is possible. My dream is to find a mentor from whom I can learn, for example, how to handle a crisis or how to reach the audience. With a mentor, I would have the opportunity to improve my skills and learn new ones, gain valuable knowledge, and further my professional development on a one-on-one basis. This year, I have discovered how interesting PR is and how much I enjoy analyzing different PR scenarios.

I hope to find a job in PR, because I’m not the kind of person who can begin my own firm without having experience. In the meantime, I’ll remember what I need to know to protect myself. Thanks again.

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 7.09.46 PM

Comment week 1

Link to the article

http://www.deirdrebreakenridge.com/2013/07/how-to-work-with-your-best-six-friends-in-a-crisis/

How to work with your Best Six Friends in a Crisis. A Guest Post by Jane Jordan-Meier

As a PR student, I’ve found it useful to go back to the basics – as you wrote – and remember the six best friends in a crisis. In PR, the process is the same for each project, but each project has new challenges. The mantra “Who needs to know What, When, Where, Why, and How?” is the always same, but the answers are completely different in each project. This makes PR interesting and challenging.

After reading your article, I wanted to know more about how Johnson & Johnson handled the Tylenol crisis. From this case, I learned how important is to have open communication and the importance of maintaining communication with the different audiences during a crisis. It is interesting to see how many big companies fail to manage a crisis effecively because they are not able to apologize (for example, BP after the oil spill). Thanks for this article.

Comment posted on July 2nd, 2013

Screen Shot 2013-07-02 at 12.51.03 PM

Leave a Reply

